From One of Our Own on the Future

One of our fathers and I were having a pleasant chat about the children and he said he had asked his daughter to share three things that she enjoyed at St Peters and three reasons she would be glad to move on.

They had moved here in the middle grades, and she said, “I really enjoy religion class, I didn’t know it as well as I thought I did.  The teachers are really excellent.  And I have many good friends.”  Great answers aren’t they!

When it came to the three reasons she was going to be glad to move on, she listed, “I look forward to being part of a team at Pius.  I’m excited to see if I’m as good at math and science as I think I am, and I can’t wait to see what religion class is like there.”  The first list was good, and this is even better!

communicate

A couple things I particularly enjoyed about his sharing were, firstly, how positive his daughter’s comments were.  With the question on reasons she would be glad to move on, one could readily look for something negative from the past.  Rather, she was glad to move on toward the positive of the future.  What a great mental mindset with which that child is blessed!  Secondly, the ease and joy that the father and daughter communicate impressed me.  Sometimes you need a crowbar to get kids to talk (to pry out the words, not with which to hit them), other times it flows more freely.  Dad, maintain the communication you have going with your daughter, what a blessing to you and in this case to me and the rest of us too.  Thanks for sharing.

God Bless,

Signature ball point pen

Sister Mary Michael, CK

cksisters.org

stpeterschool.homestead.com

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Any comments?

