The Biggest Surprise at Christmas from the Other Side

Recently someone passed along a short poem about a loved one who had died, and that Christmas in heaven was a good thing, a very good thing.  I couldn’t wait to see the original.  I’ll add it at the end, but it made me think about what it will be like when we see more clearly.  Though I enjoyed the poem, I thought it fell short of what I had hoped for.  When I see from the other side, I’m imagining that I’ll think something like this:

“Are you kidding, “as I gaze upon the magnitude and omnipotence of the Trinity, overwhelmed with his glory, beauty, goodness and love.  “HE did THAT!”  realizing the chasm between the fragile Son Incarnate lying in a feeding trough, as I see the fullness of His majesty , equal to the Eternal Father .  I think the magnitude of the condescension of the Incarnation will strike me with paralyzing amazement  causing me to fall to my knees in delight.  I think the magnitude exceeds the degree my puny little mind can comprehend.  Yet, it seems good to try, lest I yawn in boredom and let my limited human nature keep me from the grace at hand.

Christmas in Heaven (original)

I see the countless Christmas trees around the world below
With tiny lights like heaven’s stars reflecting on the snow.

The sight is so spectacular please wipe away that tear
For I am spending Christmas with Jesus Christ this year.

I hear the many Christmas songs that people hold so dear
But the sounds of music can’t compare with the Christmas choir up here.

I have no words to tell you of the joy their voices bring
For it is beyond description to hear the angels sing.

I know how much you miss me, I see the pain inside your heart
For I am spending Christmas with Jesus Christ this year.

I can’t tell you of the splendor or the peace here in this place
Can you just imagine Christmas with our Savior face to face?

I’ll ask him to lift your spirit as I tell you of your love
So, then pray for one another as you lift your eyes above.

Please let your hearts be joyful and let your spirit sing
For I am spending Christmas in heaven and I’m walking with the King.
by Wanda Bencke

Blessed Advent to you and Blessed Christmas, also.

Signature ball point pen

 

www.Cksisters.org

http://stpeterschool.homestead.com/

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “The Biggest Surprise at Christmas from the Other Side

  1. bhgordon@windstream.net

    Hey Larry,

    I thought the blog and poem below might be as meaningful to you as it is to me, as we think of our parents this holiday.

    Onward and Upward!

    Have a great day!
    Barb Hof Gordon, PhD
    bhgordon@windstream.net
    402 484-7836

Any comments?

