SNOW DAY!

What did you do with yours?

Image

The above is a friendly snowball excursion, I am sure!  There is even a smile under that dispersing snow.

After reflecting on the snow day, I saw many opportunities for charity on a variety of levels.  For example:

  • Children went out in groups of three for 10 minute shifts to clear the teachers’ cars of snow.  There was a line of students wanting to go!
  • Some of the Sisters baked for us at home!  Warm soft pretzels with the soup for dinner, yum.
  • A family that lives down the street from our convent was scheduled to deliver their seventh child Wednesday morning, so we scooped their drive.
  • On the way to their house we helped another neighbor scoop their driveway and walks.
  • It was a real cross, but I joined in the card game to make four in the afternoon.
  • On the way into school this morning, even in the midst of the genuine cold, I noticed several children looking behind them as they entered to see if there were other children, especially little ones, for whom they would need to hold the door.

As we went to scoop, we did not have shovels, but knew St. Teresa Church had some at each of the doors.  We live right next to the Church there, so we borrowed the shovels.  As we did so, I thought about the act of charity and how it was fostered by the Church.  Without the shovels, the act of charity would not be possible.  Without the Lord and His prompts of grace no good is possible.  He prompted the prayer, “Lord bless me with an open heart as I’m sure I miss so many opportunities.”

Many acts of kindness are little.   St. Therese paved the way for helping us know the value of little acts done well.  A while back one of the children asked, “I really don’t have big things I can do, but I can do little ones.  Sister, is there any act that is too little to bother with?”

“God cares about even the littlest things.  Nothing is too small to offer Him.”  How pleased He must be with such children, no wonder He says, “Let the little children come to me.” (Mk 10:14).

Snow days remind me of grace.  Freely given by the Lord, undeserved by us, bringing goodness and delight (for the most part, I’m sure for some the immediate change of schedule is difficult.)

This work of prose was floating around this week among the teachers.  I found it delightful!  We really do love school, but there’s just something about a snow day that appeals to the kid in all of us.

Oh Lord, let it snow.
Let it drift and let it blow.
In the morning, no real fuss,
Just enough to stop the bus.
Enough to make them say:
“There will be no school today.”
Let the radio report:  “Snow’s deep!”
And I’ll roll over for more sleep.
Then later on, say maybe ten,
I’ll turn the radio on again.
Just in time to hear them say:
“It’s strange, the snow has gone away.”
And then I’ll know, You made it stop.
And back tomorrow to school we will hop.
Please Lord, just hear my teacher’s plea,
And make it snow for the kids and me.

Thank you, Lord, for your gift to us.

May it help us remember to always trust.

In His Love,

Signature ball point pen

St. Peter School

http://stpeterschool.homestead.com/

http://cksisters.org

 

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “SNOW DAY!

  1. Becky

    I am so happy I came across your blog!! I love your thoughts on this post! Blessings!

  2. Sue Wozny

    This was pure joy to read! Thank you, Sister Mary Michael…it made my day!

Any comments?

